uscms.org  www 

US CMS Collaboration Organized

US groups interested in participation in the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS), a collaboration for an experiment at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN, met at Fermilab on April 6-7, 1994, with representatives of CMS management. The US groups organized to prepare a Letter of Intent (LOI) to be submitted to the US DOE, and defined a management structure for the US groups within CMS.

Thomas Müller, UCLA, was elected chair of the US Institution Board, the governing body of the US CMS Collaboration. The US Institution Board Chair also serves as the US representative to the CMS Management Board. Dan Green, Fermilab, was elected Spokesperson to DOE for the US CMS Collaboration.

The US Coordinators for the CMS subsystems in which US groups plan to participate, named at the April 6-7 meeting, are:

  • Forward Muon System: G. Mitselmakher, Fermilab
  • Hadron Calorimetry: D. Green, Fermilab
  • Electromagnetic Calometry: R. Rusack, Minnesota
  • Tracking: H. Ziock, LANL
  • Trigger: W. Smith, Wisconsin
  • DAQ/Software: P. Sphicas, MIT

The US Forward Muon and Hadron Calorimetry groups were offered design, construction, and management responsibility for those entire subsystems within the CMS Collaboration. The US coordinators of these two groups, G. Mitselmakher and D. Green, were nominated by CMS Spokesman Michel Della Negra, CERN, as the CMS Project Managers for those subsystems. The subsystem Project Managers also serve as members of the CMS Management Board.

Webmaster | Last modified: Friday, 08-Jan-2010 13:38:37 CST